Peer Pressures

Standard

Good morning.  My name is Annie, and I am a compulsive overeater.

More than that, I think I must be completely crazy!

My best friend is a bit of an exercise freak.  She has lost, oh, a lot of weight in the past couple of years.  I don’t want to guess at just how much she lost, but I know the total number of pounds is well above 100.  She looks great!   The drawback, at least to me, of her weight loss is that she has become obsessed with exercising.  I can understand that—she has worked hard to lose all she has lost and she doesn’t want it to come back.  Only she thinks that the whole world should exercise with her. 

Now, I know that just eating healthy isn’t going to do much if I am not moving more, too.  Earlier this summer, I had surgery that kept me off my feet for 6 weeks.  I ate healthier during those six weeks, and I even ate smaller portions at most meals.  Yet I gained lots of weight.  I know that is from the lack of moving.  So when BFF tells me I need to move more, I know she is right.

What I can’t figure out is how I let her talk me into walking 1.3 miles each morning!

I mean, seriously!  Who in their right mind willingly gets out of bed at 6 in the morning to bath, feed, and dress herself and 3 children, just to head out to a park and walk around a big loop in hot weather for an hour?

Apparently, my BFF.  (Not that I have ever accused her of being in her right mind before….)  And she convinced me to join her.

We walked yesterday, and my calves are still screaming at me for doing it!  They were actually so achy last night that I had a hard time falling asleep.  The plan was for me to meet her and walk again today.  That didn’t happen, thanks to a flu-bug my 3-year-old developed last night.  I just didn’t want to take a child with an upset tummy out for a long walk.  But the American Cancer Society Relay For Life rolls into town tonight.  I plan to help my mom with her Survivor’s Lap tonight.  That will be about ¾ of a mile.  And since I will be walking it while pushing Mom in a wheelchair, I am thinking that will help me to burn off a few more calories.  That should help me get into better shape, right?

About madfatlady

I've struggled with my weight for as long as I remember. It has now ballooned to over 400 pounds. I don't like that. At the same time, I don't know what to do about it. I am mad at myself about this weight gain. I am mad at the world for allowing the fod to be so readily available and relatively inexpensive, while diet and exercise programs are so costly.

Leave a Reply

