Machines

Standard

My name is Annie and I am a compulsive overeater.

Caught my first cold of the season.  Don’t know why I always seem to catch them early in the season like this.  I mean, the kids aren’t even back in school yet.  It’s only the first of September for crying out loud!!!  Can’t my body wait to grab onto these germs until at least October?

This cold is already trying to move down into my chest.  It was so bad Monday that I was struggling to breath.  I called my doctor, but he had no appointments available until near the end of the week.  His staff suggested that I go to the ER for a chest x-ray.  When my husband came home from work, we took the kids to a sitter and headed off.

One of the questions I was asked in triage, after describing all of my symptoms, was my weight.  I told her that last I knew, it was 445.  Oh how I hate saying that number!  The nurse was kind and typed it into her computer.  She didn’t say anything, but I watched as she typed.  A warning message popped up on her screen: “This weight seems high for this patient.  Please check that it was entered correctly.”

Just great.  Now I have a machine telling me I am too fat.

One response »

  1. Hi Annie,

    I came across your post in a search for overeating blogs. I am also a compulsive overeater – I’ve recently entered OA – and I wanted to reach out and tell you that I’m happy you’re writing about your experiences. It’s a brave thing to do and a hard one, too. If you ever want to talk, please feel free to e-mail me at blergsaidlizlemon@gmail.com. I also just started an overeating blog; you can read it at http://smlando3.blogspot.com/.

    Take care!

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

