Other Solutions

Standard

My name is Annie.  I am a compulsive overeater.

The next question in my The Twelve-Step Workbook of Overeaters Anonymous is:  What other solutions have I tried, and what were the results?  Am I still looking for a solution outside of OA?

I have tried Weight Watchers.  I believe that I joined 3 times before I realized that it wasn’t going to work for me.  I’d do well for a while.  Shoot, one time I lost nearly 30 pounds in the first month!  So long as I counted my Points and walked as I should, I lost weight.  The problem came in when I stopped writing down my food choices and started to count Points in my head.  Writing down every single bite that went into my mouth got to be too much of a chore.  And what Mom wants to add one more chore to her daily routine?  It was too much.  Nothing at all against the Weight Watchers plan.  It is a good plan; it’s not a diet so much as it is a lifestyle change.  Problem is, it was not a lifestyle change I was comfortable keeping up with.  And since it wasn’t a comfortable fit for me, I didn’t keep up with it.

As far as the second part of the question, no, I am not looking for a solution outside of OA.  I have finally reached the point where I know that I am battling a disease.  It’s not a lack of will power that is keeping me heavy.  It’s an addiction to food that is my problem.  Will Overeaters Anonymous help me overcome it?  I don’t know.  But I know that I need to face the addiction.  And it seems to me that facing it with the help of others who have fought and are still fighting the same disease will help more than it will hurt me.

Leave a Reply

