Food Secret

Standard

Hi.  I am Annie, and I am a compulsive overeater.

What has it been like living with me at home?

I can’t really speak for my husband or my kids.  But I can say that I know there are times when I feel like I am hiding and lying WAY too much.  I’ll binge on food and then hide the wrappers.  When I miss something and I am called on it, I have been known to lie about where it came from.  “So and so bought that,” I’ll say.  Or, “This other person bought lunch for me today.”  I have even said, “Oh, I saw that fast food bag in the front yard and thought I’d just put it in our trash.”  Lie, hide, deny.  That is my mantra some days. 

Now that I really think about it, it is like I am cheating my family with that thinking.  It is hard to relax and be sincere with them when I am worried that they will uncover my dirty little food secret.

One response »

  1. Hi, Annie! I’ve also dealt with eating disorders for almost half my life, most recently bulimia. My heart goes out to you–no one should have to deal with this. I can completely empathize with the secrecy, the hiding, the lying, and the guilt. It’s incredible the lengths we’ll go to perpetuate this addiction!

    I wish you the best of luck in overcoming this and getting to a place where you can be honest, happy, and free. Keep fighting!

Leave a Reply

