Afraid of the Steps

Standard

Hi. My name is Annie. I am a compulsive overeater.

Step Four talks about making a “searching and fearless moral inventory.”

I don’t think I am anywhere near ready to work on Step Four, but some of the things are popping up in my mind and my life anyway. It seems that my character defects are jumping up and smacking me in the face lately.

One that is hitting me this week is my tendency toward procrastination. I am especially good at procrastinating when it comes to my OA work. I know that I need to do it. I know that I need to face my deep inner-self. Nothing in my life is ever going to change, not for the better anyway, if I don’t examine the reasons why I eat as much as I eat.

So if I know that, why is it that I keep putting off doing any step work?

Just what is it that I am afraid of?

About madfatlady

I've struggled with my weight for as long as I remember. It has now ballooned to over 400 pounds. I don't like that. At the same time, I don't know what to do about it. I am mad at myself about this weight gain. I am mad at the world for allowing the fod to be so readily available and relatively inexpensive, while diet and exercise programs are so costly.

One response »

  1. Relax! Just make a list….
    list all your resentments….
    List all your fears…
    List all your “harms done” that you can think of…
    Then list your GOOD qualities….at least 20!

    With this start you will know those area’s to work on…
    relax..breathe….the inventory is worth it…I promise…
    b

Leave a Reply

