Accepted!

Standard

Hello. My name is Annie and I am a compulsive overeater.

And today, I am EXCITED!!!

As you may remember, I had my medical evaluation for weight loss surgery on March 3 and then my psychological evaluation on March 18. I’ve been told ever since the 18th that my case would go before the review board “any day now.” And I was getting rather frustrates that nothing was happening! Today, I called and found out that my case was presented to the review board on Tuesday, April 12. I had to wait on hold to speak with someone specifically about it, but I learned that I have been accepted into the program!

There are a few things that I need to do yet—like attend a nutrition class—but now I am officially in the bariatric program. I am beyond happy about that!

One thing that annoys me, though, is that I have to either see a counselor who specializes in food addictions or go to a Hunger Within Workshop. Now, neither of those options is a particularly bad one, especially as my health insurance will pick up the tab. The problem is that I have to drive at least half an hour to get to the appointments. Half an hour, on the highway. And I am paranoid about highway driving. Oh, and the workshop? Yeah, it is pretty much out of the question. The current workshop is full and the next one doesn’t start until September. SEPTEMBER!!! I am so NOT willing to wait that long for my surgery.

There is one other option. If I provide documentation about my activity in OA, they “might” consider that in lieu of counseling or the workshop. That would be the easiest for me, and I am praying that it works out that way. But if not, I will have no choice but to conquer my highway driving fear and get to counseling appointments in Ann Arbor.

About madfatlady

I've struggled with my weight for as long as I remember. It has now ballooned to over 400 pounds. I don't like that. At the same time, I don't know what to do about it. I am mad at myself about this weight gain. I am mad at the world for allowing the fod to be so readily available and relatively inexpensive, while diet and exercise programs are so costly.

Leave a comment