Other Addictive Behaviors

Standard

I’m Annie and I am a compulsive overeater.

As I typed that, I thought of how icky that statement makes me feel.  It seems so odd to identify myself that way all the time.  Yet I know that is part of what keeps me moving forward in my recovery.  There is no way I would stick with all of these life-style changes if I did not keep my disease constantly in the front of my mind.

In my reading of Drop the Rock, I came across this sentence on page 65: Where else in our lives are there addictive patterns?

                Does the desire to change myself count as an addictive behavior?  Because that has been at the forefront of my mind lately.  I’ve been changing my eating habits and my exercise habits.  The surgery I am planning will mean major changes for the appearance of my body, which will mean changing the clothing I wear.  Finally I will be able to wear cute clothes without fear that I am too fat for the current styles!  But I don’t know if being excited about the changes that are coming really counts as addictive.

I recently discovered Miche handbags.  LOVE those things!  In case you’ve never heard of them, they are purses with changeable outer shells.  There are three sizes.  I use the medium size, the Classic Bag, for everyday stuff and the larger Big Bag for carrying my computer and trips to the library (because I always get more than just one book and I need something carry them home in!)  As of this moment, I have six Classic shells and two Big Bag shells. The first party that I am hosting will be on May 17th, and I have made a wish-list of the shells that I would like to earn for free.  But that’s not an addiction, is it?  Obsession, maybe.  I don’t know.  I have always been a purse girl.  This bag allows me to be able to change the look of my purse without pulling everything out and transferring it to a different purse.

Hmm….  Another thing that we talked about at Monday night’s meeting was defending our actions.  I just tried to rationalize why the Miche bag is a good fit for me.  But if I have to defend my choice to carrying them and spend my money on new shells, perhaps it does point to a deeper issue.  Maybe not an addiction, but it could lead to it.  That just might be something that I need to examine a little bit closer.

3 responses »

  1. I always felt that addiction is NOT the same as obsession…I read once that the American Medical Association defined addiction as a disease that runs a “course” and has predictable withdrawal symptoms when a substance is removed. My opinion is this is not addiction…keeping in mind that “feeling” obsession can be as strong as any symptoms of addiction.

    The American Society of Addiction Medicine has this definition for Addiction:

    Addiction is a primary, chronic disease of brain reward, motivation, memory and related circuitry. Dysfunction in these circuits leads to characteristic biological, psychological, social and spiritual manifestations. This is reflected in the individual pursuing reward and/or relief by substance use and other behaviors. The addiction is characterized by impairment in behavioral control, craving, inability to consistently abstain, and diminished recognition of significant problems with one’s behaviors and interpersonal relationships. Like other chronic diseases, addiction can involve cycles of relapse and remission. Without treatment or engagement in recovery activities, addiction is progressive and can result in disability or premature death .

    My
    My

  2. Pingback: $20 for $40 Worth of Handbags and Accessories from Miche Bag - Daily Couponds

  3. Pingback: The Addict’s Dilemna « I Am Addicted 2

Leave a Reply

