Awed and Humbled

Standard

My name is Annie and I am a compulsive overeater.

Last night, I got a huge shock. I decided to Google “Rantings of a Mad Fat Lady.” I do that every now and again. I wasn’t really expecting to see anything. But I got a hit that shocked me.

This little blog has been named one of the Top 50 Best Blogs for Overcoming Food Addiction by the Guide to Culinary Schools.

I totally was not expecting that! I mean, I’d never heard of this website. Since I’d never heard of them, I certainly didn’t expect that they’d heard of me. But they did. And they like what I have to say.

This is very humbling to me. I’ve done a lot of writing in my life, a lot of writing that I’d hoped would get the attention of others. But this blog is not about that. This blog is about saving my life, overcoming my addition to food, learn to live within the boundaries necessitated by this addiction, and sharing my road to recovery with others. Never once did I think that I would capture the attention of anyone in the media or anyone other than other food addicts. That this journey of mine has not only been noted by others but is also being promoted to other overeaters shows me that other food addicts have noticed.

I’m not perfect. I’ve never claimed to be and I highly doubt that I ever will achieve anything near perfection in this lifetime. But I will continue to be honest about my struggle. After all, it is honesty, according to The Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous, that will lead to recovery. I am honestly amazed to know that others are reading this blog and finding hope in my words.

Thank you!

And if you’d like to see the other Top 50 blogs, click here

About madfatlady

I've struggled with my weight for as long as I remember. It has now ballooned to over 400 pounds. I don't like that. At the same time, I don't know what to do about it. I am mad at myself about this weight gain. I am mad at the world for allowing the fod to be so readily available and relatively inexpensive, while diet and exercise programs are so costly.

Leave a Reply

